Thread: 1891: Playboy
View Single Post
Old 12-17-2013, 09:44 PM   #91 (permalink)
ImStillToni
47-hour Marathon 2016 Kickstarter Backer57-hour Marathon 2015 Kickstarter Backer38-hour Marathon 2014 Kickstarter Backer54-hour Marathon 2013 Kickstarter Backer

Hmm, good questions.

Ok first I wouldn't say my father made constant threats. He just let me know point blank that they would not condone be getting pregnant considering I was then at the age I realized my father had paid for, at a minimum, no less than 5 abortions for my half sister (and then she had 2 kids while my bro had 5...all before i graduated high school. they are at least 10 years older than me). I did not live with my siblings and back then I had no idea bout her drug abuse. I also grew up in the 70s/80s. My parents weren't my friends, they were my parents so back them, I still had enough fear of my dad to know this is the one thing he wasn't playing around about. They just raised me to wait til I get married to have kids, I know that sounds crazy huh? Back then its not like there were tons of girls with kids in school or considered acceptable (I'm only 35).

I was raised as an only child. I had my own tv, I had cable, I was mature. I don't really recall having the sex talk with my parents until after I asked them for birth control. Also, my parents did not know about the rape until after I was married, so they thought i was just being responsible with my first boyfriend. If I'm being honest, I think it was the rape that did it. After being violated in your own house, room, and bed by someone you trusted there was no way in hell I was not going to control my body. Perhaps I did hear and retain things about my sister, but at the time i was 12-14ish in an age when abortions weren't as freely talked about, but eventually i kind of figured it out. Damn now I feel old.