Latest Episode
Play

Go Back   Keith and The Girl Forums Keith and The Girl Forums Bottoms Up with Hennessy

Bottoms Up with Hennessy Lauren's show

Like Tree248Likes

Old 11-26-2018, 11:42 AM   #51 (permalink)

To me its clear. Addiction is a monster with tentacles that run through generations, through loved ones and near ones. Its a serious disease and has to be faced with courage.
I relate to a lot in Hennessy's account, and for that same reason I can hear the bullshit. Sometimes we just have to stop lying specially to ourselves. I am also an addict with a history of lying and cheating when spinning out. There is no rational explanation, but the best thing is there is no need to explain. Accept that it is so and then do what you have to do to be able to have a life with real connection. Its a constant process.
I am grateful that more and more people are willing to talk about it openly, Ive been listening since 2005 and your experiences (Keith, Chemda, Andrea, Danny, Hennessy) in dealing with your monsters (addiction, depression, whatever face they have) have been so strengthening and as much a support to me as the NA and ACA groups which have saved my life.
Chemda, I think you are taking care of yourself and that is the most important thing, I think it is admirable and I cheer you on!
Hennessy I think you might need to stop explaining and analyzing and just listen, show up to meetings with an open mind and a present heart and cut the bull shit. You don't need to prolong this, but I guess you'll be ready when you're ready.
I appreciate the openness in sharing your stories. That in itself is so valuable. I think the more we talk and share as a society, the more chances we have of being healthy individuals.

P.S. Today I am 3 years (and eleven months) clean.
Pintman, Jameira, littlp and 2 others like this.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 06:37 PM   #52 (permalink)