Latest Episode
Play

Go Back   Keith and The Girl Forums Keith and The Girl Forums Show Talk

Show Talk Talk about the show

View Poll Results: Is Chemda taking too many vitamins/pitamins?
Yes 50 80.65%
No 12 19.35%
Voters: 62. You may not vote on this poll

Like Tree83Likes

Old 11-16-2017, 08:11 PM   #31 (permalink)

Something about nutrition makes people go to the extremes.

It's like pimp my ride but with people's bodies.

You like oxygen!? Well, we put oxygen in your oxygen so you'll have MORE OXYGEN!
Sparrow and shoebootie like this.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 07:01 AM   #32 (permalink)
2023 Marathon Kickstarter Backer2022 Marathon Kickstarter Backer2020 Marathon Kickstarter Backer

Talking

I'm currently studying nutrition so vaguely know what I'm talking about...

Too many supplements is not good. As people have already said, you can OD on some if you exceed the upper tolerable limit. Vits A, D, E and K are fat soluble so any excess is stored in fat so you shouldn't need to take loads of these as you'll have a store. The rest are water soluble so you'll end up peeing out all the extra.

You should also try to get all your nutrition in the form of food. Supplements are there to supplement your diet, not instead of. So if you do find you're low on something try adding it to what you eat (I'm low on iron so make sure I eat red meat once or twice a week). Having your turmeric is great as that's food, rather than a pill. Non food stuff isn't as easily absorbed either, so you're not actually taking in as much as you think. Some vits are really hard to get from food alone, like vit D, so during the autumn and winter a supplement can be a good idea. But you should still try enhancing your levels with eggs and oily fish.

Get hubbyface to research food instead and cook for you every day. He'll like that
Old 11-22-2017, 07:05 AM   #33 (permalink)
2023 Marathon Kickstarter Backer2022 Marathon Kickstarter Backer2020 Marathon Kickstarter Backer