Latest Episode
Play

Go Back   Keith and The Girl Forums Keith and The Girl Forums Talk Shite

Talk Shite General discussion

Old 05-30-2006, 07:17 AM   #31 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by germuhknee
BTW, Spooky: what makes you a republican and not a libertarian? Just wondering, because a lot of what you say reminds me of this libertarian I once knew ...
the difference is my vote counts. thats about it. i actually vote pretty liberal in local elections, where liberalism, imo, belongs.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 10:08 AM   #32 (permalink)

Dammit... This thread that started out about ideas for alternative fuel sources turned into a political butt fuck. Precisely the reason we're still burning inefficient fuels in automobiles. Rather than focusing on the differences in party lines, focus all that energy on the problem or the task at hand.

I got a degree in Natural Resources. From Humbold State University, just down the road from where Julia Butterfly lived in a redwood tree for 2 years. Right down the road from the Mattole watershed where people chain themselves together around trees to make their point. I'm well versed in the politics of environmental issues... so here's my thoughts for a solution:
  • make gasoline in excess of $5 a gallon. Democrats and republicans will both stop driving; greenhouse gas emissions will decrease.
  • Switch from huge autos to light-weight scooters. (Think of any asian city.) Getting 65+ miles per gallon of any kind of fuel makes a lot of sense.
  • Someone said it already, but GM is going out of business because of huge health and retirement pensions. I blame the unions. They shot themselves in the foot.
  • subsidise the solar energy industry. If there was a solar array on every home in America, there would be no need for centralized power stations. No coal fired plants, no nuclear plants, no hydro-dams on the rivers, etc; fewer fossil fuels being burned = fewer greenhouse emissions.