Latest Episode
Play

Go Back   Keith and The Girl Forums Keith and The Girl Forums Talk Shite

Talk Shite General discussion

Old 03-26-2012, 02:18 PM   #1 (permalink)

Lil' help

Hi guys

I could really use a little advice or a kick in the ass, whichever you think is needed.

I've been whining about wanting to leave this country for years now. I'm an artist and there is just no way for an artist to really make it here, especially not with the type of day job I have where I work 12 hour days quite often. I recently found out that anyone born here before 1990 qualifies for a South African passport and I've considered applying. Not that it's an absolute happyland over there, but there is a lot more opportunity work-wise and a lot more to do for fun in general - if you don't mind the occasional murder/robbery/hijacking.

All I had to do to apply was get a certified copy of my birth certificate and I asked my mom for mine. She said it was packed in boxes somewhere and she'd look for it. Last weekend I asked her again and she admitted she knew exactly where it was, but didn't want to give it to me and if I moved we may as well kill her. She keeps saying things like this and it really upsets me... she keeps telling me to wait until she dies to move anywhere else and everytime I bring it up she'll ramble on and on about every negative story she saw on the news about another place.

I know I can't live for my parents, but hearing things like that doesn't exactly encourage me or make it easy to go. It really doesn't feel fair, but I'm so terrified to leave after hearing her talk like that. I currently live 4 hours drive away and hate where I am. I've considered moving back to where they are as I like the slower pace of life near the ocean, but to find work there that isn't something industrial or as a receptionist for someplace industrial is nearly impossible so I don't think it would be a step forward.