Latest Episode
Play

Go Back   Keith and The Girl Forums Keith and The Girl Forums Talk Shite

Talk Shite General discussion

View Poll Results: Should the app be removed from the market place?
This app is awesome, even in beta, keep it there. 15 32.61%
Its not perfect, pull it out... screw people who can only get it there! 31 67.39%
Voters: 46. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2010, 01:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
elastoplastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Denver
Posts: 8
New KATG Android App beta

This is an open source project, feel free to fork it and help out. http://github.com/ehudokai/katgandroidapp
6/9/2011
Removed app from market.

Updated links to latest working version below.

Hope to have time to put in an audio feed reset menu option soon.
6/8/2011
Updated app in the market.

Streaming works now with my test stream, will try to listen live tomorrow to be sure its working.

Also made the pause button actually pause instead of killing the feed and forcing a restart. Let me know if this new method causes issues. Not sure what will happen if you leave it paused for a very long time. May need to add a reset button.
6/8/2011
UGH! Just realized you guys have been posting problems in this thread and I haven't been being notified in my email . Putting a link here to an older version. I hope to get the market version fixed tonight when I get home from work.

link to old version can be found at the open source project hosting above.
5/18/2011
updated

Biggest change is the adding of the events tab, but there are several other cosmetic fixes such as icon loading and such that have been updated.
5/17/2011

Updated the app.

Fixed the phantom notification icon that gets left behind if the audio stream is killed by the OS.
made it harder for the OS to kill the audio stream due to lack of memory.

This update is only available through the Market.

Removing the non-market links below... Because I want my download count to go up

Let me know if someone doesn't have market access and needs the apk.

5/14/2011

Another new version. I've updated the links below.

Changelog:
Updated Live status and next show code to load properly on application start, and fixed next show code so it takes into account your timezone(as set by your phone).
Removed a lot of old code and old libraries that aren't currently being used.

I think its good enough to put in the market as a beta. So please download it there as well and rate it 5 stars (I know its not perfect, but save your critiques for here). Thanks.

See plans below for whats coming hopefully soon.

5/12/2011

I've released a new version. You probably won't notice a whole lot of changes.

REQUIRED: Android 2.2

1 thing I have done is changed the streaming code. It currently now requires Android 2.2 minimum, so if the old version works for you and you're on a version previous to Android 2.2, don't upgrade.

CHANGELOG:
updated live status code, should work more consistently.
updated next show code, should work more consistently.
added a test feed url that can be activated in the preferences for testing when KATG isn't streaming.
removed a bunch of unused files.
fixed notification so that it turns off when the feed stops.
hid unworking events calendar (this will come back in future versions)

PLANS:
feedback widget
get events calendar working
episode guide including pictures/download links/show notes
Put into Market so people can get it there. ( this worries me, because I'm never satisfied with the app, and I worry about bad reviews. But I know people will appreciate having access there, and Maybe I can get Keith and Chemda to ask people to vote it up on the market if it starts getting a bad rap )
Add code to allow for seamless shoutcast streaming in android <2.2

Hope this works better than the last one.


Here is the latest version:

Go download it here KATG-1.2.1.apk

Let me know how it treats you.

KNOWN ISSUES:
unless you got it from this thread, you'll likely have to uninstall the app to install this version.
Show Status: indicator does not match the actual feed status. FIXED
There are issues playing the stream on devices running a Version of android less than 2.2. G1/MT3G/Some older samsung devices/etc.. (there aren't many of these left, but I'm trying to get it working anyway) For now it requires Android 2.2

Last edited by elastoplastic; 06-10-2011 at 08:34 AM.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 12:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
2019 Marathon Kickstarter Backer24-hour Marathon 2018 Fundraiser Backer24-hour Marathon 2017 Fundraiser Backer47-hour Marathon 2016 Kickstarter Backer57-hour Marathon 2015 Kickstarter Backer54-hour Marathon 2013 Kickstarter Backer
 
flerchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dallas, TX 5'11" 200#
Posts: 885
How do I uninstall the old app? Since I didn't get it from the market, I'm not familiar with how to get rid of it. Sorry if that's a dumb question.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 10:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
elastoplastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Denver
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by flerchin View Post
How do I uninstall the old app? Since I didn't get it from the market, I'm not familiar with how to get rid of it. Sorry if that's a dumb question.
Not a dumb question. Go to the Launcher (home button)->press menu->goto settings->Select Applications->wait for the applications to come up and then select it and uninstall.

There is a shortcut, but I'm not sure if it works on all systems.

Go to launcher->open app drawer->long press the app->drag and hold over trash until you see "uninstall" show on your screen, then drop it.

Hope that works.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Member
57-hour Marathon 2015 Kickstarter Backer54-hour Marathon 2013 Kickstarter Backer
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Crosby TX
Posts: 21
It's not working for me. I had it on 30 minutes before the show started. It looked fine...gave me countdown even though it didn't automatically update, I could back out of program & go back in to get updated countdown...

Currently its 3:03pm and I get this
Show Status : Not Live
Next Show: Sh*t, it was 1 minute ago

But it doesn't start playing even though I exited & reentered .

HTC Incredible. I will update if it starts working while current show is on

Update: 323pm Show Status: Live
Next Show : this area is blank now
__________________
http://twitter.com/rosie314

Last edited by rosie314; 07-27-2010 at 03:24 PM. Reason: update
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
slam_858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SW Virginia
Posts: 123
About an hour ago, it said Next Show in 59 minutes. Then @ 4:05 EST, not live, shit it was 5 minutes ago. Moto Droid, 2.1.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
slam_858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SW Virginia
Posts: 123
Oh, got my hopes up... Said "Live!" Then when I clicked, "The feed is not live"
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
elastoplastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Denver
Posts: 8
Is it working now? It should be...
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
PoorGradStudent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by elastoplastic View Post
Is it working now? It should be...
i'm still having the same problems
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
angstak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by slam_858 View Post
Oh, got my hopes up... Said "Live!" Then when I clicked, "The feed is not live"

Me too.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 07:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Tech007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by slam_858 View Post
Oh, got my hopes up... Said "Live!" Then when I clicked, "The feed is not live"
Ditto on my Magic running CM 5.08/2.1 via 3G.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
Keith and The GirlAd Management plugin by RedTyger