Latest Episode
Play

Go Back   Keith and The Girl Forums Keith and The Girl Forums Talk Shite

Talk Shite General discussion

View Poll Results: Should the app be removed from the market place?
This app is awesome, even in beta, keep it there. 15 32.61%
Its not perfect, pull it out... screw people who can only get it there! 31 67.39%
Voters: 46. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2010, 05:48 PM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
elastoplastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Denver
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmar618 View Post
I was having issues streaming with StreamFurious as well. I'm not so sure it was entirely the fault of the app.

If people want to try a different way to stream katg (and other internet radio streams) give this a read. I did a write up about how I do it. It may help people see if the problem is the cause of the app or just the internet radio stream.

The only thing that's not so good with my method is that I can't take part in feedback or have easy access to the show calendar. Maybe a standalone feedback app or widget would be cool.

Thanks for your hard work so far, elastoplastic.
Thanks for the writeup.

One of the biggest issues that makes streaming difficult is that Older implimentations (supposedly just before android 2.0) don't support Shoutcast streams (which is what KATG use). Its because shoutcast uses a non-standard ICY protocol instead of the standard HTTP or RTSP protocols. Newer implementations don't have a problem with this since the actual data sent is the same using ICY or HTTP. But the older ones balk and quit when they see the non-standard ICY headers.

You mentioned Leo Laport's twit.am stream in your writeup. I had been using that stream to test the app until I realized that it is a standard HTTP not a Shoutcast stream. It's the reason I released the app thinking it would work, not knowing the shoutcast stream was going to be such a headache.

I'm continuing to look for workarounds and fixes. I would ask KATG to change their feed, but I'm sure they'd just tell me.. It works for Doug :/. For once I wish I was developing on an iPhone... oh well.

-joel
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 06:54 PM   #22 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Tech007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by elastoplastic View Post
2 questions:

Do you notice the hickup with the old app streaming?

Are you annoyed by the space its using on your SD card?

If I'm solving problems that no one cares about, I'll stop.
Please don't stop! My feedback is simply a reflection of my experience with both beta's.


1) Streaming is mint for me. I sometimes I hear a brief loop of the first 1-3 minutes of streaming then it picks-up live and streams flawlessly. HTC Magic on 1.5/21. and 2.2. wifi/3G.

2) I look at the files as a special 'feature' !! I have half of the marathon on there and plan to catch up when not busy! An option to set a max directory size or "auto-clearing by date" would be cool too.

Getting google KATG calender shud be possible somehow? And I'd love a live show and/or show posted notification option ( with audio alert? - "YOINK!")

Twitter and/or FB widgets wud be great and don't forget about feedback!

Notifications of fellow katg-ers within xx range (via GPS/Twitter/Latitude) would be uber cool too.

<end wishlist rant>

Quote:
Originally Posted by elastoplastic View Post
For once I wish I was developing on an iPhone... oh well.
Watch your mouth!!! ;-) The dark side is very powerful; resist the temptation...

Android will blow that closed market crap out of the water soon enough. Get a large screen version ready for Android 2.2/3.0 tablets with all the ustream katg chat windows why don't ya!??


A great BIG thank you goes out to ALL of you app developers. I will back it up with a cash donation ASAP.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 10:02 PM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Has anyone tried using the Ustream Viewer app available on the Market? Or Retro Radio Streamer...says it streams shoutcast. These definitely won't replace a katg app but may do the job when all else fails?

I just tested it with Ustream Viewer and video and audio work fine...just search for katg while the show's live. It won't run in the background though.

Last edited by LennyQQQQ; 08-11-2010 at 10:16 PM.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 11:37 PM   #24 (permalink)
Senior Member
2019 Marathon Kickstarter Backer
 
FreydNot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by elastoplastic View Post
One of the biggest issues that makes streaming difficult is that Older implimentations (supposedly just before android 2.0) don't support Shoutcast streams (which is what KATG use). Its because shoutcast uses a non-standard ICY protocol instead of the standard HTTP or RTSP protocols. Newer implementations don't have a problem with this since the actual data sent is the same using ICY or HTTP. But the older ones balk and quit when they see the non-standard ICY headers.
Maybe the problem is just my phone then...

I have a Samsung Vibrant which runs 2.1. During the 24 hour marathon, when I pressed the play button it just said "feed is not live". However, I was able to listen using a different shoutcast player (Retro Radio) on the same phone. Am I the only one?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 05:00 AM   #25 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Adammled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: East Georgia
Posts: 5
Unhappy HTC Aria won't load program

I keep getting the message that I cannot load this program because it's not in the Android Market. I don't know how to "root" the phone to bypass this problem. The option on the Settings>Applications page that is supposed to unlock this, does not exist on my phone.

Do you have a work-around?
or
Will this be added to the Android Market soon?

FYSY,
Adam
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 08:08 AM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adammled View Post
I keep getting the message that I cannot load this program because it's not in the Android Market. I don't know how to "root" the phone to bypass this problem. The option on the Settings>Applications page that is supposed to unlock this, does not exist on my phone.

Do you have a work-around?
or
Will this be added to the Android Market soon?

FYSY,
Adam
What you want to do is "sideload" an application (install an app that is not in android market). ATT cripples their Android phones by disabling this feature. Here is a way to do it. I haven't personally used it, but it looks pretty easy. Give it a shot.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:32 AM   #27 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Tech007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 844
They block 3rd party apps? Boo...

I would have thought you could run the .apk using Astro or some such file browser?

Get this going then - takes a while but WAY worth it...
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 01:22 PM   #28 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
elastoplastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Denver
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adammled View Post
I keep getting the message that I cannot load this program because it's not in the Android Market. I don't know how to "root" the phone to bypass this problem. The option on the Settings>Applications page that is supposed to unlock this, does not exist on my phone.

Do you have a work-around?
or
Will this be added to the Android Market soon?

FYSY,
Adam
Hoping to release a new beta soon, been too busy with work to progress as fast as I wanted.

I want to get it in the market, but don't want to put something there that hasn't been fully tested since the commenters tend to be brutal and bad ratings are never good for promoting use.

So do the att phones not allow you to do development? Because you have to be able to install 3rd party stuff in order to develop/test an app. Another reason I'll never go with AT&T.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 07:13 PM   #29 (permalink)
Senior Member
2019 Marathon Kickstarter Backer
 
FreydNot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 184
Does AT&T really disable the ability to load non-market apps?

On my T-Mobile Vibrant, unknown sources is turned on by default.

So to Settings | Applications and check Unknown Sources if you can.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 03:36 AM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Adammled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: East Georgia
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by elastoplastic View Post
So do the att phones not allow you to do development? Because you have to be able to install 3rd party stuff in order to develop/test an app. Another reason I'll never go with AT&T.
Looks like it. This sucks because I want to start programming again. But now that I can get the programs loaded using the AC-SWM program I guess it's possible.

What program are you using to develop this program.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
Keith and The GirlAd Management plugin by RedTyger