Latest Episode
Play

Go Back   Keith and The Girl Forums Keith and The Girl Forums Talk Shite

Talk Shite General discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2006, 11:12 AM   #11 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 38
The problem Im having with Audacity is that for some reason when my mic is plugged in, the drop down menu to select stereo mix is grayed out and I cant use it.

Anyone know a solution for this?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 11:26 AM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
ooda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 1,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dana
The problem Im having with Audacity is that for some reason when my mic is plugged in, the drop down menu to select stereo mix is grayed out and I cant use it.

Anyone know a solution for this?
Most microphone inputs are mono, hence the inability to select the stereo option. Try the line-in input if you have one, or else buy some basic external device that gives you the line-in input.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 11:51 AM   #13 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by ooda
Most microphone inputs are mono, hence the inability to select the stereo option. Try the line-in input if you have one, or else buy some basic external device that gives you the line-in input.

thanks much Ooda!
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 02:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
amazingshite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12
so essentially I can plug my regular good old mic into the input right? I figure I can,but I never tried, why would you have a mic jack, and then a input jack as well? I always wondered....

oh, and I released the latest version of my audiocast(podcast), and I wanted to see what some of you thought of it quality-wise. I never used Audacity before, so I wanted some input from people that know how to use it.

it's a PSP Podcast - woo, exciting right?

Download PSPMagic AudioCast #4
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 07:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
ooda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 1,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by amazingshite
so essentially I can plug my regular good old mic into the input right? I figure I can,but I never tried, why would you have a mic jack, and then a input jack as well? I always wondered....

oh, and I released the latest version of my audiocast(podcast), and I wanted to see what some of you thought of it quality-wise. I never used Audacity before, so I wanted some input from people that know how to use it.

it's a PSP Podcast - woo, exciting right?

Download PSPMagic AudioCast #4
No idea why, but I'd assume it's so you can have the microphone plugged in at the same time as something else. Unfortunately, making the microphone mono doesn't help in that regard.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 08:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
amazingshite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12
so, can I record in stereo if I plug my mic into the input jack?
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 08:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
ooda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 1,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by amazingshite
so, can I record in stereo if I plug my mic into the input jack?
I believe so.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 10:36 AM   #18 (permalink)
Member
 
martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bay City MI
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by amazingshite
thanks guys for responding to all my questions. and still, I have yet another. I want to import say an mp3 file into audacity, so I can play it as my intro song, and then have it fade out so I can talk, im not exactly sure, i'll post an update in the morning if I figure it out or not

I recomend a mixer so you can manually lower it when you start to speak but the other option is to add the song on a seperate track later and then highlight where you want it to begin fading and choose fade out from the effects menu. The tracks will then mix together when you export it.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
Keith and The GirlAd Management plugin by RedTyger