Latest Episode
Play

Go Back   Keith and The Girl Forums Keith and The Girl Forums Talk Shite

Talk Shite General discussion

Old 06-04-2010, 03:54 PM   #11 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dazmania83 View Post
here's a link to an overview of the current legislation in the UK.

this is a good starting point. I had it free on a photography magazine a while back and seeing as this topic came up I finally gave it a read.

I had no idea how common it was for photographers to become victimised but a quick search brings up similar stories where people are being challenged when they are within their rights.
you can spend days on youtube watching videos where someone is off to the side filming cops arresting someone and the police start harrassing them asking for ID, frisking them, etc.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 09:26 AM   #12 (permalink)

photographer's rights

I'm a Missouri resident who was visiting Chester Illinois a couple days ago. I noticed the big old Menard prison buildings, and decided to take some photos. I setup my tripod on the right-of-way between the railroad and street, and was never on the prison property. I took 7 or 8 shots (no people were visible in any of them), and as I was starting to leave, a prison officer walked out in front of my car to stop me. He told me that it was illegal to photograph the prison, that I could be arrested. I told him I wasn't aware of that and that I would just delete the photos. As I started to leave, he told me, "Don't come back." In my opinion, if they are going to have laws like that, the government needs to post warning signs at the prisons that photography is not allowed. If I had seen any signs like that, I would never have attempted to take photos.
Old 06-19-2010, 05:49 PM   #13 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozkmtnbear View Post