Latest Episode
Play

Go Back   Keith and The Girl Forums Keith and The Girl Forums Talk Shite

Talk Shite General discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2009, 04:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Articthunder666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jacksonville,FL
Posts: 326
I need some podcast help!

First of all I just a got Yamaha MW12CX USB Mixing Studio mixer and I am using Audacity for my recording program. What I am trying to figure out, is how to play audio clips while doing the podcast. (Such as when Keith plays news stories, songs, ect ect.) I’m not sure if I have to sent them to a certain channel or whatever. Compare to my old mixer this is a big step forward. I searched online for awhile but wasn’t finding the answers I was looking for. I know a lot of KATG listeners do podcast as well so any help would be appreciated. I hope I worded this right. Thanks in advance.


Last edited by Articthunder666; 02-11-2009 at 04:32 PM. Reason: fucked up
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 04:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
dzagama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: pacinian corpuscle.
Posts: 1,480
Can't help ya, but that's some nice gear porn.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 06:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
i_like_cheese_2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 640
I think he just sets the mixer in Audacity to "Studio Mix" and plays them as he normally would.

I don't know if you need to have 'Software Playthrough turned on or off... seems like on would be the way to go.

/has very little idea of what he's talking about, just used to mess with audacity a bit
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 06:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
PARTY! SUPER PARTY!
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NYC, baby!
Posts: 12,840
Studio Mix like he said from the drop down menu on the top of your main Audacity screen. (Play All or What U Hear or anything like that is the same thing.)

That's all I can say. Good luck.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 07:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Articthunder666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jacksonville,FL
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith View Post
Studio Mix like he said from the drop down menu on the top of your main Audacity screen. (Play All or What U Hear or anything like that is the same thing.)

That's all I can say. Good luck.
I'm not seeing studio mix, i'm a bit new to this...would anyone post a screen shot please? thanks!

Last edited by Articthunder666; 02-11-2009 at 08:05 PM.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 09:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
marina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: I live in Southern California.
Posts: 3,055
This is a cheap fix, but I used to just edge the computer speakers close to the mic and do it that way. This would probably only be a quick fix for you, since I doubt that with that expensive mixing board that you'd be content with shitty sound for long.

Also a quick fix, but I seem to recall that in audacity you can make a secondary track, unmute it and drop it along the timeline in the secondary track, and continue talking over it on the primary track. You have to be wearing headphones or you get weird echo, and you can't pause it to talk about it, but you can talk over it.

Last edited by marina; 02-11-2009 at 11:38 PM.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 10:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Tech007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 843
Fancy mixer - nice pick. It's convenient having the audio interface built-in - BUT it can be kinda tricky to get all sorted out if you're new to the game.

Are you using Vista?

Even if you are not using Vista check this link out - esp. the bottom of the page.

Ditch Vista ASAP if you plan on doing audio production - XP or Mac for serious work.

Also I'd suggest using a second PC / Ipod or whatever to beam this clips into your recordings. i.e. Mixer is hooked to recording machine and only records the show. Machine 2 or ipod plays back clips. Simply plug the playback machine outputs into the mixer and there ya go. I find it easier/more stable/reliable having 2 machines.

Good luck.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 01:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Articthunder666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jacksonville,FL
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech007 View Post
Fancy mixer - nice pick. It's convenient having the audio interface built-in - BUT it can be kinda tricky to get all sorted out if you're new to the game.

Are you using Vista?

Even if you are not using Vista check this link out - esp. the bottom of the page.

Ditch Vista ASAP if you plan on doing audio production - XP or Mac for serious work.

Also I'd suggest using a second PC / Ipod or whatever to beam this clips into your recordings. i.e. Mixer is hooked to recording machine and only records the show. Machine 2 or ipod plays back clips. Simply plug the playback machine outputs into the mixer and there ya go. I find it easier/more stable/reliable having 2 machines.

Good luck.
thanks for the advice! I normally use my mixers for band recordings and generally dont have a problem with that. but podcasting is new to me and is a little different then what i'm used to. I'll let you know how everyting goes.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 12:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
haz
Senior Member
 
haz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: montana
Posts: 307
what we do is run a laptop headphone out into a line in on the mixer, but it should be on a seperate computer otehrwise you'll get some hum. hum is bad. You wanna have the sound playback in your sound properties set to whatever your mixer is plugged into on your sound card. Unless your using usb, then i have no idea. Good luck man. Get yourself a hacked copy of cool edit pro 2 before adobe bought it from syntrillium. Unless your already used to audacity.

i think we do our shit this way cuz we're the only podcasters in the world that dont use headphones. its just cooler that way, no big deal. You could probably mic a speaker if you have an extra mic but not an extra computer, or you could do a line out to headphone out loop, but that will probably give you hum. Ok now im just being an asshole. And if you could, try to make your podcast not suck, we would all appreciate that.

*** that is one sexy mixer, if you decide podcasting isnt right for you, i'd be happy to let you donate it to the jamhole. I'd rape the fuck outta that little slut.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 02:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Articthunder666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jacksonville,FL
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by haz View Post
what we do is run a laptop headphone out into a line in on the mixer, but it should be on a seperate computer otehrwise you'll get some hum. hum is bad. You wanna have the sound playback in your sound properties set to whatever your mixer is plugged into on your sound card. Unless your using usb, then i have no idea. Good luck man. Get yourself a hacked copy of cool edit pro 2 before adobe bought it from syntrillium. Unless your already used to audacity.

i think we do our shit this way cuz we're the only podcasters in the world that dont use headphones. its just cooler that way, no big deal. You could probably mic a speaker if you have an extra mic but not an extra computer, or you could do a line out to headphone out loop, but that will probably give you hum. Ok now im just being an asshole. And if you could, try to make your podcast not suck, we would all appreciate that.

*** that is one sexy mixer, if you decide podcasting isnt right for you, i'd be happy to let you donate it to the jamhole. I'd rape the fuck outta that little slut.
thanks for the tips, i've listened to the jamhole and so far ive liked what i've heard. do you use audacity? if you do, do you know what they are talking about by "studio mix'? anyways, we'll try not to suck hahah i'll send a trial episode during out gearbox/tone port days..cheers!
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
Keith and The GirlAd Management plugin by RedTyger