Latest Episode
Play

Go Back   Keith and The Girl Forums Keith and The Girl Forums Talk Shite

Talk Shite General discussion

Old 08-16-2010, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)

iPod playlist question

I have about a dozen pod casts I listen to at work, other than KATG they are mostly science, astronomy, etc. The play list I have is basically all unheard pod casts in the order received. This works fine, but I want more. :-)

Anyone know of a way to intermix random music between pod casts? Is there a program that might could make a play list from combining two play lists?

I work part time in a factory on a simple production line. Very mind numbing but it's hard to take the time to change play lists or such while working (in other words, the bosses don't want to see us standing there 'playing with our toys' when we should be working :-))

TIA

Last edited by Spanky McDuck; 08-16-2010 at 07:46 PM.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 01:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
2019 Marathon Kickstarter Backer

You might be able to make a second smart playlist that was fed by two other playlists - one with your podcasts and one with a selection of music. It would be pretty easy to make the smart playlist select from both lists randomly, but I'm not sure how you would keep the podcasts in the order you want them in.
Old 08-17-2010, 07:19 AM   #3 (permalink)

That might work. After thinking about it, some of the pod casts will work fine if they play out of order. Others, like KATG, work better if in order but I tend to listen to them first anyway.
Old 08-17-2010, 07:26 AM   #4 (permalink)

That did seem to work. Making a smart playlist that pulls from two other playlists works but still need to tweak it to pull a few more podcasts each time.

Example: 5 hours of randomly selected music and podcasts only pulls one or two podcasts, some of which are only a few minutes long.

Thanks for the idea.
Old 08-17-2010, 11:42 PM   #5 (permalink)