Latest Episode
Play

Go Back   Keith and The Girl Forums Keith and The Girl Forums Talk Shite

Talk Shite General discussion

Like Tree236Likes

Old 02-03-2015, 07:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Official KATG Fucktard Club

Moving on.

Hi. I'm Lucas. Some of you may remember me. I used to be an intern, then a not-intern. It's been over two years since I had any association with KATG and I'm still having trouble moving on. Maybe this post will serve as psychological fiber.

I listened to KATG for years as a young adult. Formative years, looking back. The opinions of the hosts became mine. I ran things past them in my head reflexively, gauging their hypothetical reactions to my thoughts and feelings and choices. It wasn't particularly healthy, but I didn't think anything of it at the time.

I moved to New York, wound up interning for KATG, then did paid work. After about two years of it I got burnt out. For the paid work, I typically made around $5 per hour, sometimes less. The Burger-Off 2 took me between 50 and 90 hours to edit from about 9 hours of totally disorganized footage. They gave me $250 for that one. Trailers were $25, took about four hours including listening time. Show notes were $10 per episode, usually took about two hours. I came to greatly resent the hosts, but they were my friends and I put them on a pedestal, so I lived with it.

Somewhere along the way I fell in love with Chemda, and I had no idea how to tell her or deal with it internally. I jumped at every opportunity to spend time with her, and I lived for her approval. I felt like a traitor to Lauren.