Latest Episode
Play

Go Back   Keith and The Girl Forums Keith and The Girl Forums Talk Shite

Talk Shite General discussion

Like Tree41Likes

Old 09-12-2010, 09:49 AM   #4381 (permalink)
47-hour Marathon 2016 Kickstarter Backer38-hour Marathon 2014 Kickstarter Backer

I am a game developer and I absolutely HATE numbered reviews, but they absolutely control sales. I have had a game be reviewed in the us with an "ok" written review but a bad number (3.0 out ouf 10!) because the reviewer "Doesn't generally like this type of game"... but then in another country the same game got a 9 out of 10 and went on to sell really really well there. So either games are more fun based on the country you live in and both reviews reflected the population they represented... or reviews are totally subjective and you should read a review for the content and decide for yourself if it's the kind of game you want to play.
(Offline)   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 10:22 AM   #4382 (permalink)

Like I say, there is some use to numbering IMO, if only to point out which games don't function or control to a satisfactory level, or don't provide enough bang for the recommended retail buck. But if you look at what a number tries to achieve, ie. an at-a-glance preview of whether a game should be worth the reader's attention or not, a quick pros v cons bullet point list can achieve the same thing.

When all is said and done though, if I have a few quid to spend on a pre-owned or older game, and my brain is drawing a blank (as is the way with the law of sod), I'll jump on to gamerankings or something similar just to drum up some ideas.

Where Does Godzilla Poopcast :: Steam :: XBL: Space Indaver :: ** KATG Playmates **

Old 09-12-2010, 11:11 AM   #4383 (permalink)

I find the best reviews are the angry 1 star Amazon spams or Metacritic.